Natural State - Credits

Natural State is funded by an Arts and Rural Community Assistance Project grant from the National Endowment for the Arts and the US Forest Service. The purpose of these grants is to support arts-based rural community development projects that demonstrate:

  • The arts as an economic development tool; e.g. tourism development, downtown revitalization, scenic byways, heritage areas, natural resource based cooperatives and nonprofit enterprises.
  • The arts as a community development tool; e.g., use of the arts to address issues such as adult and youth education, leadership development, and civic entrepreneurship.
  • The arts as part of a community's heritage; e.g.,community cultural planning, exhibitions, festivals that support civic stewardship for natural resources.

Development Team

Curriculum Specialist:   Samantha Cofield 

Editors:   Mimi Wortham-Brown, Andrea Thorpe 

Executive Producer:   John Bane

Grant Writer, Concept:   Betsy Newman

Graphic Illustrators:   Joseph Byrne, Sam Glenn, Connie Robinette

Interns:   Erin Colgan, Kyle Day, Kellen McFadden

Producer:   Patrick Hayes

Programmers:   Steven Anderson, Richard Baldwin, Tony Toich

Research/Materials Development:   Connie Robinette, Samantha Cofield

Still Photography:   Gaines Halford, Patrick Hayes, Connie Robinette, Urica Pope

Streaming Media Specialist:   Ed Goodwin

Video Directors:   Patrick Hayes, Urica Pope

Video Editors:   Kyle Day, Patrick Hayes, Audrey Muck, Gerald Skipper 

Videographer:   Gaines Halford

Web Developer:   Connie Robinette

Writers:   Samantha Cofield, Patrick Hayes, Connie Robinette


Nancy Basket, Mildred Blue, Tom Boozer, Harriet Bailem Brown, Clay Burnette, Nola Campbell, Arianne King Comer, Jimmie Dinkins, Adesola Falade, Stephen Ferrell, Pearl Fryar, Evelyn George, Timothy Greene, Phillip Greene, Georgia Harris, Andrew Livengood, Shannon Livengood, Billie Anne McKellar, Marcelo Novo, Matthew Penn, Janet Orselli, Herb Parker, Leslie Pierce, Leslie Rech, Brian Rust, Gary Taylor, Nils-Udo, Peter Werner.

Collaborators (South Carolina)


Ernie Denny Director, Clemson Sculpture Garden, Clemson University

Clemson University College of Agriculture Forestry and Life Sciences

Clemson University College of Architecture Arts and Humanities

Clemson University English Department


Gwen W. Beavans, Education and Interpretive Specialist, USDA Forest

Stephanie Neal Johnson, Public Affairs Officer, USDA Forest Service

Tommy Charles, Archaeologist, University of South Carolina

Christopher Robinson, Graduate Assistant, McKissick Museum USC

Saddler Taylor, Director of Folklife Programs, McKissick Museum USC

South Carolina Geological Survey

South Carolina Department of Natural Resources


College of Charleston, School of the Arts, Sculpture Program


Steve and Debra Lane, Ancient Cypress, LLC


Allen Coleman, Director, Pickens County Museum of Art and History

Rock Hill

Becky Garris, Archives, Catawba Cultural Preservation Project

Winona Haire, Director, Catawba Cultural Preservation Project

Steve McKellar, Volunteer, Catawba Cultural Preservation Project

Sandra Reinhardt, Staff Archaeologist, Catawba Cultural Preservation Project

Earl Robbins, Volunteer, Catawba Cultural Preservation Project


Heidi Adler, Ceramics/Art Teacher, Sumter High School

Booth Chilcutt, Cultural Director, City of Sumter

Charlie Holmes, Arboculturist, City of Sumter

Peggy Chilcutt, Artistic Director, Sumter Gallery of Art

Lynn Eldridge, Art Teacher, Chestnut Oaks Middle School, Sumter

Yonges Island

Martha and John Walters Too Goo Doo Tree Farm

More in this Series