The Piedmont | South Carolina Geography - Episode 4


The word "piedmont" means "foot of the mountain." This region is hilly and comprises approximately one third of the state. It includes all or portions of Greenville, Spartanburg, Cherokee, Oconee, Pickens, Anderson, Abbeville, McCormick, Edgefield, Saluda, Newberry, Fairfield, Kershaw, Greenwood, Laurens, Union, York, Chester, Lancaster, Lexington, and Richland counties. Greenville's economy has been tied traditionally to the textile industry. Today its industry and economy are more diversified. The third largest city in the state, Greenville is the home of Furman University and Bob Jones University. Spartanburg has been heavily dominated by textiles; however, its economy has undergone diversification. Wofford College, Converse College, Spartanburg Junior College, and the University of South Carolina-Spartanburg are located here. The Carowinds amusement park is Located at the North Carolina-South Carolina border. It contributes to the economy and recreation of both states.


PreK Kindergarten 1 2 3 4 5