The Coastal Zone | South Carolina Geography - Episode 7


The Coastal zone is the region of the state where creeks and rivers are affected by the ebb and flow of ocean tides. (In some places, such as Virginia, the term "tidewater" is used to describe this region.) Counties in South Carolina that are wholly or partially located in the Coastal zone are Horry, Georgetown, Colleton, Jasper, and Beaufort. The Coastal zone can be subdivided into three separate regions. The arcuate is the crescent-shaped area from the North Carolina border to Winyah Bay, near Georgetown. It is about 60 miles in length and includes many popular beach resorts, the largest of which is Myrtle Beach. This area is popularly referred to as the Grand Strand. The next 20 miles or so, from Winyah Bay to Bulls Bay, is known as the Santee Delta, the largest delta on the East Coast. It is inhabited primarily by wildlife. The remainder of the Coastal Zone south to the Georgia border consists mostly of sea islands. Charleston and Beaufort are in this region.


PreK Kindergarten 1 2 3 4 5