The Coastal Zone - The Islands | South Carolina Geography

Share to google classroom

SC islands can be divided into 2 types: beach ridge barrier islands and transgressive barrier islands. Barrier islands are protection for the mainland against the ocean. Morris Island is a transgressive barrier island and subject to erosion and Hilton Head Island is a beach ridge barrier island.

More in this Series