Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Award Program

The South Carolina Folk Heritage Awards were created by the South Carolina General Assembly to recognize and honor lifetime achievement in folk arts, music, and advocacy. In 1997 the name was changed to the Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Award in memory of state representative Harris's long-time support of South Carolina's cultural heritage. The award recognizes individuals or groups who have used their lives to create beauty and meaning for their communities and the state as a whole. These expressive traditions have lasted often for hundreds of years, and continue to provide identity and meaning today. Winners of the award represent those who have demonstrated excellence in folk art and have enriched the lives of people in their community, state and nation through their unique talents.

McKissick Museum and the South Carolina Arts Commission administer the awards process; an advisory panel appointed by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House selects the winners. To learn more about the Award Winners, select a county of interest below.

Jean Laney Harris