Jasper County was initially inhabited by Yemassee and Coosaw Indians. Swiss - German immigrants first settled the area in the 18th century. This group started the settlement of Purrysburgh near the Savannah River, but this settlement did not survive. A number of plantations made a second attempt at settling the area. The lands from a number of these plantations now comprise the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.

The county resulted from a merger of lands previously belonging to Beaufort and Hampton counties in 1912. Jasper’s namesake, William Jasper, was a Revolutionary War sergeant. Confederate soldiers won the battle of Honey Hill in the area now known as Jasper County. Notable locals from Jasper County include Declaration of Independence signer Thomas Heyward Junior, and Henry Martyn Robert, creator of Robert’s Rules of Order. Today the area is known for its abundance of wildlife and outdoor sports. Ridgeland serves as its county seat.


Coast Jasper County. Accessed June 06, 2016. http://www.carolinaliving.com/coast/jasper-county.asp

Jasper County